Focus On: Large Greenbee Scoop Tote

I love this bag. I love to make this bag. Out of all the things I’ve made for myself, this bag is the one I use the most often. I first came across this pattern on Craftsy, an awesome site that sells sewing, knitting, quilting kits and classes that come with patterns and materials. I liked the pattern, but the bag wasn’t large enough and didn’t have enough pockets. So I adapted the pattern to double the width and add a few more interior pockets.

0319180903

The finished product has become my go-to carry-on bag and kid-outing bag. It holds so much stuff and is really sturdy. I have taken this bag on numerous trips and dragged it through countless airports and the bag still looks pristine. The tote has a canvas exterior with coordinating cotton fabric interior. There is a double welt pocket and two patch pockets inside with two more exterior side pockets. And did I mention it’s big? It holds so much! Take a look:

0319180901_Burst02

Yup. That’s a pair of stacked heeled shoes, multiple cosmetic bags, kindle, and other stuff. The side pockets are perfect for sunglasses or other things that you need to access quickly:

More often than not I’m traveling with my kids. I can shove all manner of snacks, entertainment, kid-necessary stuff inside and then, because the top opening is so big, I can access it quickly. There is a magnetic snap closure that I rarely use because I cram so much into the bag.

I currently have one Greenbee Scoop tote bag listed in my Etsy shop. You can see the listing here. I also have many really beautiful canvas and cotton fabric options in my sewing stash and can customize this bag to make it a bag you love. You can view all the fabric I have on my Pinterest board here. To customize this bag, you need to choose one canvas fabric, one lining fabric, and one accent fabric for the straps and the pockets. You select the custom bag listing in the shop and then we can have a conversation about what you want/like. If you don’t see fabric you like in my stash, I can always source more! Let me sew for you!

Leave a comment